Months Later and Things Are Handy Dandy

Two years ago I would not have been happy with a picture like this with my hand in it.

Two years ago I would not have been happy with a picture like this with my hand in it.

A few people have asked how my hands are doing now that’s it’s been over seven months since I finished up my last procedure on my right hand. I just wanted to write a quick update to say that I am still very happy with my results. I was very lucky to heal quickly. My fixators were on and off in pretty much the estimated time and I didn’t suffer any breaks or need for surgery to regain flexibility. It was definitely a tough 10 months with infections, painful physical therapy, and tiring travel, but I would say it was worth it. I no longer feel self conscious about my hands. I still have noticeable scars, but for whatever reason those don’t bother me much. Later on down the road, perhaps I’ll get something done to make them less noticeable. Every once in a while I do get a weird sensation near my scar and more so in my left than my right. I also still feel a slight tightness when I do a full stretch in a work out classes. But that’s about it. I love wearing a ring on my right ring finger and if I ever get one for my left I’d be happy to wear that too!

My right hand

My right hand


My left hand

My left hand

 

5 thoughts on “Months Later and Things Are Handy Dandy

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your journey! 😀

    How are your hands? Do you have a strong grip? Are you able to do push ups yet? How much of your weight can you put on them?

    I have the same condition on my hands. It’s been over a year and half since I’ve elected to get surgeries done, and I’m impatiently waiting til I meet up with the surgeon to tell me if I can get the surgeries. I am curious to know how recovery for hands is post-op (obviously it’s not the same for everyone, but I want to know in general).

    • I think I have full grip strength. My physical therapist teased me for having a limp grip before I started the surgeries (don’t know if It was due to my condition at all, but I certainly sucked at opening jars). I stopped PT when I was close to my original strength, so I imagine I’m at it by now. I played a lot of golf in December while I was in Florida and it felt completely normal. I do work out classes with 8 lb weights and it’s not due to my hands that I haven’t increased that, haha. I reluctantly do push ups. Even the stretching sensation isn’t as great as when I first started doing work out classes, but I do sometimes get weird sensations randomly by my scar. It’s more unpleasant than painful and definitely worth it.

      Good luck with your doctor!

  2. I think this has finally given me a name for my deformity. I’m 25 years old and it’s always just been my short finger. Although the size has never bothered me, I’ve always had this strange itching/tingling feeling in my middle knuckle. Did you have the same feeling?

Leave a Reply

