Growth Spurt

Thought I’d include a couple pictures of my hand. You can really see the difference! From the palm view the hand looks completely normal and I’m already fairly happy with the length of the finger but the knuckle isn’t lined up yet. The doctor told me to keep turning til my next appointment on Tuesday. Hope it doesn’t get too long!

Day 10 of turning - you can see the gap between ring and long finger

Day 10 of turning – you can see the gap between ring and long finger

Day 13 of turning- the buddy tape solution is introduced

Day 13 of turning- the buddy tape solution is introduced

Day 18 of turning - more high tech buddy method + blinged out fixator

Day 18 of turning – more high tech buddy method + blinged out fixator

I’ve been having a bit of bleeding at the pin site. I e-mailed my doctor about that tonight to make sure it’s nothing to worry about it. My guess is it’s from turning and also working really hard at my PT exercises to keep up flexibility. I hope it’s working, because it really hurts. I had a session on Monday and I was congratulated on my efforts to keep going despite the pain and told that if a guy had to do the exercises he probably would have given up ages ago (yay being female and being able to take pain?!) Of course soon after that I had to take a break because I was turning white and felt like I was about to pass out. Not looking forward to another 7:30 appointment on Friday. Great way to start the day! I was happy though that the woman I was working with this time had a bit more experience with external fixators, because she works on children with them. Plus they gave me the more comfortable buddy tape device, so totally worth nearly passing out.

After turning for a couple weeks it got less exciting and I started worrying I might forget to do it or that I would turn an extra time. I came up with this high tech way of keeping track on my iphone. Now I have to remember to turn and to record it in my phone.

Picking a new emoji each day put the action back into distraction

Picking a new emoji each day put the action back into distraction

I made the decision to wait and have the surgery on my second hand until January 14. I think it will be a lot easier that way, plus I should be fixator free during the holidays.

One thought on “Growth Spurt

Leave a Reply

